Getting Photoshop CS4 to perform well on a Dell Optiplex GX620 MT

spookyblue

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2010
I've been lurking for a long time, and I would value your advice on this issue. I recently installed PS CS4 and came to the realization that my machine is aging. Specifically, I can't use the new PS openGl goodness. I'm a graphics designer, not a gamer. Not sure how relevant that is. Here are my specs:

Dell Optiplex GX620 Mini tower (305W PSU)
2G RAM
ATI Radeon X600
Catalyst driver ver 8.593-090312a
Windows XP SP3

My options as I see them:
A) Upgrade the PSU and purchase a new video card. The location of the PCIE16x socket leaves me with few options (7" distance from the CPU plastic housing to the rear of the machine). I understand, of course, that CPU and OS play a roll in the upgrade-ability.

B) Keep the 305W and possibly find a replacement card that doesn't melt the PSU, and will still give decent performance. I've been content w/ this machine until I installed CS4.

C) Find some crazy combination of configuration settings for the X600 and the new driver that will please Photoshop (if it's possible).

If I remember correctly, CS4 used some 1.2 OGL shader specs. right? If that's the case, then your card should do the trick.

Now, if it uses DX9c shaders (SM3), you'll need something from the Radeon X1800 / GF 7800 era.

Don't think you can find those cards new these days, but you can find cheap replacements for the specs you need from those cards:

Ati Radeons: 4650, 4670, 5470, 5670 (in case you want to watch some HD videos or some, from cheaper to more expensive). nVidia cards I can think of: 8400GS, 8500GS, 9500GT, 9600GT. I'm sure there are other cards, but those are the ones I can think of now. All of those are OGL 2.x and DX9c or later.

Cheers!

spookyblue

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2010
Thanks, Yuka. I appreciate the info.