Help on video card/older TV in another room

TheFluxCapacitor

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2010
Hi everybody,

This is my first time posting in the forums here at Tom's Hardware. For awhile now, I have been putting together a list of computer parts to build a computer for the first time. I have got just about everything picked but am stuck on what video card would be best for me. First off, I should say that this computer probably will not be used for any gaming. I'm not into gaming on the computer and I don't see this changing. It will be used for recording and watching TV and movies a great deal and surfing the web and maybe some programming. The other part of this situation is that I have an older 27" analog TV in another room that I would like to be able to watch all the stuff I record on the computer on. It's maybe around 30ft. from where I will have the computer and has a 7 pin S-Video input. Here are some of the parts that I am thinking of buying that may be helpful to know:

CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115202

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131614

Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811103033

Monitor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824001281

Here are my questions:
Will I need a low profile ready video card?
In addition to HDMI and DVI outs, should the video card include an S-Video out?
How powerful of a video card will I need for the monitor I want?
Will I need a sound card?
What's the best way I can watch what I record on the computer on the TV in the other room and still be able to fast forward, rewind, etc.?

Any input will be appreciated. Also, if there's any input on what dual tuner card to use to record TV from a regular cable source taking into consideration the slots I'll have on the motherboard and how much space there will be, that would help too. Thanks.

Solution