SSD for music samples

addyn25

Honorable
Apr 19, 2012
I am somewhat new to SSDs but i've read up a lot on the way they function, why they are better, and parameters used when comparing SSDs. I have SATA III. I want to know

a) is an archived library of music samples sequential or random data? i'm pretty sure it's random
b) given the answer to (a) if i buy an SSD (i was thinking a 128gb marvell drive, can't afford any bigger), what should i store on it to gain the maximum speed increase from my current single 7200 rpm HDD setup?
c) if i store vst plugins with vast libraries (such as stylus rmx or kontakt) on the SSD, and if the library data is stored on my HDD (which i plan to load into the caddy or connect externally), would the HDD act as a bottleneck and prevent the plugin from loading as fast as it would if all the data was on the SSD?
d) given my usage of the computer only for gaming (Starcraft II) and music production (Cubase 5 and some plugins, mainly stylus rmx , u-he ACE, u-he zebra and kontakt 5), what should i store on the SSD to ensure life and speed, because i know that excessive writing wears out the SSD, but samples access would be almost always only reading...
e) lastly, WHICH SSD SHOULD I BUY? i don't want compatibility issues obviously, and would prefer if it worked straight out of the box. It would also be great if it came with a CD cloning software, as i don't have an original copy of windows.

my setup is:

(no overclocking, all stock settings)

dell xps l502x
i5-2410m
4 gb DDR3 ram
7200 rpm HDD
nvidia gt 525m
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 Audio Interface
a whole bunch of midi controllers
windows premium x64
cubase 5 and starcraft II are the primary uses.

after hours of music working a few games of starcraft does wonders

this conventional hard drive is really getting to me when i load massive projects...

Solution
Lessee.

Any SSD is better than no SSD. My personal opinion is to get whichever one is handy and large.