Sign in with
Your question

Love Hate relationship w/ 5770

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 6, 2010 9:57:16 PM

Gotta be honest. I'm actually an Nvidia fanboi. However, after reading some reviews I decided to buy an xfx radeon hd 5770. All is well and dandy till I got those "grey lines of death." I've known about this problem but I figured most of those posts were months old and ati would've already fixed those problems... or so I thought.

Don't get me wrong. I really like the card. Great performance for the price plus it runs really cool and does not use that much power. I've gone through 2-3 days without experiencing any difficulty. But every time those grey lines appears, I just want to pull my hair out. This never happened to my old 9500 gt.

I just started learning about computer hardwares. I wanted to know if driver issues on vid cards are common and how long does it usually take before they fix it? (or will they ever fix it) I'd like a vid card that would last me for a couple of years (i got this because of dx11) without being too pricey (being only a part-timer).

I have a week left before I can RMA this card. I really like the card but hate the crashing part. I can't decide whether or not to return it.

I would really like to get a 275 gtx but I heard it gets hot plus I can't really afford a new psu (currently have 550w). If I did decide to replace my 5770 w/ a 275, will it last me a couple of years?

More about : love hate relationship 5770

a b U Graphics card
March 6, 2010 10:02:17 PM

Have you tried the latest drivers?
RMA the card & they'll send you another.
m
l
March 6, 2010 10:06:07 PM

I got the 10.2 one. Checked again this morning and I still have the updated one.

Did I just get a bad card? I just assumed it was a driver issue since a number of people are having similar problems.
m
l
Related resources
March 6, 2010 10:06:16 PM

+1 for RMA, 5770 is a good card :) 
m
l
a b U Graphics card
March 6, 2010 10:10:33 PM