Love Hate relationship w/ 5770

clamor

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2010
Gotta be honest. I'm actually an Nvidia fanboi. However, after reading some reviews I decided to buy an xfx radeon hd 5770. All is well and dandy till I got those "grey lines of death." I've known about this problem but I figured most of those posts were months old and ati would've already fixed those problems... or so I thought.

Don't get me wrong. I really like the card. Great performance for the price plus it runs really cool and does not use that much power. I've gone through 2-3 days without experiencing any difficulty. But every time those grey lines appears, I just want to pull my hair out. This never happened to my old 9500 gt.

I just started learning about computer hardwares. I wanted to know if driver issues on vid cards are common and how long does it usually take before they fix it? (or will they ever fix it) I'd like a vid card that would last me for a couple of years (i got this because of dx11) without being too pricey (being only a part-timer).

I have a week left before I can RMA this card. I really like the card but hate the crashing part. I can't decide whether or not to return it.

I would really like to get a 275 gtx but I heard it gets hot plus I can't really afford a new psu (currently have 550w). If I did decide to replace my 5770 w/ a 275, will it last me a couple of years?

clamor

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2010
I got the 10.2 one. Checked again this morning and I still have the updated one.

Did I just get a bad card? I just assumed it was a driver issue since a number of people are having similar problems.

I have personally found that with the memory underclocked by 50, and the core overclocked by 50, I have no vertical lines ever, on my 5870's and it performs better than stock.

You might want to try it and see if it helps (the overclocked core isn't needed, it's just it works nicely).

nfail

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2010

you really missed the point didnt you?