5800k maximum memory speeds

mcchase

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2009
Hi guys,

Before I start I'd like to make it clear I have NO experience whatsoever with memory overclocking, so please forgive me when I sound like an idiot - that being said, I'm currently looking at building a system utilising the 5800k APU. Everything I have read so far stresses the importance of memory speed to obtain the most from the integrated graphics chip, yet I have seen no system running at more than 2133Mhz.

My current thoughts on hardware are the Asrock Fm2a85x mobo (stated capability of 2600Mhz memory speed) combined with 8Gb of Kingston HyperX Predator memory (2400Mhz). But now I'm second guessing as to whether this is a good idea as I'm completely unsure if it's possible to run at these frequencies being as, quite frankly, I have no real idea what I'm doing.

So my question is; is 2400Mhz stable memory speed easy to obtain in this hypothetical system? What BIOS settings would need to be changed?

Thanks in advace,

Chase.

legendkiller

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2011
You seriously dont need memory faster than 1600MHz, anything over 1600MH is kind of pointless right now... If you already have 2400MHz as stock then there shouldnt be any problem but if your overclocking then you shouldn't even other because it takes forever or even a whole week with computer on 24/7 doing test for 100% complete stable... If i were you i spend money on a $100 dedicated graphic card because it'll outperform an integrated by nearly 1000%

mcchase

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2009
I have read that anything over 1600Mhz is pointless for systems that have a dedicated graphics card with their own designation video memory, however, the integrated graphics chip in the APU greatly benefits from faster system memory. Indeed the benchmarks I have seen show that system memory speed is a far more important factor for the 5800k graphics performance than the clockspeed of the graphics chip is.