Nanometer

kilo_17

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2011
Hey guys. Since I'm new to PC's and all, I was wondering about the whole "nanometer" concept. Does it mean the CPU core is manufactured at a size measured in nanometers, or is it the whole die manufactured at a certain size. Does the smaller the size mean a better, more efficient CPU, or does it not make that much of a difference (i.e. 45 vs. 32nm). One final question, how big is a nanometer? Thanks for all your input, like I said I'm new to PC's and all, so I haven't learned all this yet.

Solution
The nanometer sizing they refer to is the length of the channel of the transistor(MOSFETs on wikipedia) Shorter channels allow for lower gate voltages and smaller currents which reduce the power consumption of each transistor. They tend to decrease in size by about 0.7, this lets them fit twice as many transistors onto a chip of the same size. They tend to manufacture CPU cores on large wafers, often about 300 mm in diameter so it doesnt matter how large the whole CPU die is as they make a ton of them at a time then cut them all apart.

As for how large a nanometer is, its obscenely small, a hydrogen atom is 0.1 nm in diameter, a red blood cell is ~7000 nm in diameter, so 45nm and smaller has no rational reference as you are...
The nanometer sizing they refer to is the length of the channel of the transistor(MOSFETs on wikipedia) Shorter channels allow for lower gate voltages and smaller currents which reduce the power consumption of each transistor. They tend to decrease in size by about 0.7, this lets them fit twice as many transistors onto a chip of the same size. They tend to manufacture CPU cores on large wafers, often about 300 mm in diameter so it doesnt matter how large the whole CPU die is as they make a ton of them at a time then cut them all apart.