Sign in with
Your question

Not sure what I am doing wrong.

Last response: in Overclocking
January 30, 2013 2:02:37 PM

I am new to over clocking and decided to give it a shot. I used a guide and in the bios I set the frequency to 4.2, voltage to 1.300 and CPU load line calibration to high ( I am not sure if should have messed with the llc). After this I saved and restarted and everything went fine as far as booting goes. I ran prime for an hour(probably should have done for a few more) and my temps were fine And voltage went up to 1.36(goes to about 1v on idle). After this I went on and did my normal things. The next day I turned my PC on and noticed the CPU red led was solid and my PC shut down and turned back on to a successful boot. This also happens when resuming from sleep sometimes. However when I go back to default setting in my bios, everything works perfectly when it comes to booting and resuming from sleep. This leads me to believe I am not doing something right.

My oc settings:
Went into bios and chose manual
Frequency: 4.2
Voltage: 1.300
CPU load line: from auto to high

Specs:
I7 2600k
Asus sabertooth z77 with earliest bios
Dominator platinum @ 1866
Evga gtx570 HD
Corsair h100i
Corsair hx750
Corsair 650d

- this is an updated and more specific version of my previous post on the same issue

thanks!

More about : wrong

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
January 30, 2013 3:46:05 PM

This could be instability... but if prime ran for an hour is shouldn't cause this effect.

If it is cpu instability you may wanna try upping the voltage by .025
Also I'm not sure if its the same with sandybridge but on x58 CPU PLL voltage needs to be raised at times to maintain stability. In some cases people are able to run the cpu with lower cpu pll voltage but in other cases it needs to be raised a little...

I recommend you run intel burn test as a stress test. That program will tell if you're really stable or not. Also make sure your memory is 100% stable.