SSD free space slowly going down?

jyang16

Honorable
Apr 8, 2012
Hi,

I have recently upgraded to SSD from HDD and it is my first time using more than 1 storage so I have couple of questions.

it seems like the free space on my SSD is slowy decreasing. For example, yesterday free space was 100.0 GB but now, it is only 99.6GB (No updates and I have done all the tweaks).

Also,

I have installed a game on my other HDD (D:) and after the install, the space on my SSD decreased about 300-400MB. But after uninstallation, those used up MB never came back.

How I uninstalled was:
I went to Computer -> uninstall or change program and I delete the program from there.
(I did not install the game on my SSD but it created shortcut and the game was on the uninstall/change program list).
Then I went to my D drive and deleted the whole installed game folder.
I did the same thing on my SSD where the saved game file was.

Did I properly uninstall the program?
I am wondering if there are still left over files from the game that is using up 300-400MB which never came back.

Sorry for making thing so complicated and THANK YOU!!

spankmon

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2011
My first guess would be that you still have hibernation enabled, and that slowly eats away at disk space. Most games will install some pieces into the Windows system folder... things like libraries (dll). You can easily see where your disk space is disappearing by installing a graphical disk analyzer like sequoia view or windirstat.

erwinna

Honorable
Mar 30, 2012

You can disable Hibernation if you don't use it, as well as decrease your pagefile size. Here is a useful guide:

http://techgage.com/article/disabling_windows_pagefile_hibernation_to_reclaim_ssd_space/

djscribbles

Honorable
Apr 6, 2012