Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need recommendation for a PSU on a partially purchased new build

Last response: in Systems
March 22, 2010 3:30:53 PM

I've just started to order parts for my mainstream general purpose build and would like to get some ideas on the correct PSU.
This is my first build, been pushing a keyboard for many years.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: 19 March '10 BUDGET RANGE: $1100, After Rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: General surfing, beginning graphics manipulation, Movies and TV, Visio, seeing how many tabs I can open on my browser.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS (TechNet) Win7 Ult 64bit.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com, Micro Center COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: US

PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel CPU, ATI GPU, Case with good airflow,

OVERCLOCKING: Yes/Maybe SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No, not with my MOBO

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680x1050

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
I have already purchased:

GA-P55A-UD4P LGA 1156 P55 ATX Motherboard

Core i5 750 Processor

Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus CPU Cooler

CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (4 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 CMX4GX3M2A1600C8

These are burning in as you read this.

I will be using my previous:
22" LCD Dell Monitor
Radeon HD4650 512mb (Until the GPU price drops, hopefully in the next couple of months, then HD 5770)
Keyboard Logitech Wave
Seagate 500GB SATA2 7200rpm 32MB cache (until I can get the SSD of my dreams)
Mouse, speakers, etc.

No DVD or floppy drives.

I have been roaming this great site (and others) for information for the last couple of years, and have read all of the stickies and many threads on new builds and many other subjects.

Narrowing the case down to likely the HAF 922.

PSU that I have in mind:

Corsair VX550W

Corsair HX620W

Any other PSUs I should be looking at?
Is there an advantage to 3 rails, or is 1 good? Modular?

Thanks for any feedback.

Best solution

March 22, 2010 3:43:45 PM