Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Request for Assistance

Last response: in Systems
March 22, 2010 6:01:28 PM

I am new to the idea of building a computer. If anyone were to ask me, can't drive a nail to . . . . . But as a teenager I did rebuild a couple of hotrods so can building a gaming system be far off. I think I'm ready to order parts and start building. I've got my list made, can you tell me will it work ? Somethings I overdid for gaming or at least making my rid 3 years worth of future proof.

To begin with I've got the case, monitor, keyboard and mouse. Stuff on my order, thus far are:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition

MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-790XTA-UD4 AM3 AMD 790X SATA

HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus

GPU: 2 SAPPHIER Vapor-X Radeon HD5770 cards.

RAM: 8GB of RAM in the form of 8 2GB Strips of G.SKILL 240-Pin DDR3

HD: Western Digital Caviar Black WD10002FEX 1TB 7200 RPM

OPT: PLEXTOR 24X DVD/CD Writer Black SATA Model

Rosewill RCR-1C002 74-in-1 USB 2.0 3.5" Internal Card Reader

Koutch PCI to USB2.0 Card Model 10-PU530

Glue/Goup: Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound

Thank you for patience and understanding. I've tried to take the best ideas and work them into a AMD system that can be a multifunctional tool or myself. My plan is to be able to play Video game from Long Island with my brothers in Virginia and Texas. Am I there ? Will this work ?

More about : request assistance

a b B Homebuilt system
March 22, 2010 6:49:25 PM

PSU??? I don't see one list as bought or need to buy. I would recommend Corsair 650TX or Antec EA-650 for your build. They have plenty of power for your system.

HDD: I would look at the Seagate 7200.12 1TB hard drive over the WD Black 1TB. The Seagate is based on 500GB platters, which makes them faster than the WD.

RAM: If the build is a gaming build, there is no need for more than 4GB of RAM, so drop 4GB's to save a little cash.
Score

Best solution

a b B Homebuilt system
March 22, 2010 7:03:25 PM