Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Preventing corrosion?

Last response: in Overclocking
February 1, 2013 4:20:45 PM

Hey guys,

I'm new to water cooling and am trying to learn all I can before jumping in. I've read pretty much all the CLC vs water cooling threads, and I think I'm gonna order the XSPC 750 RS240 kit for my 3770k in a Corsair C70 case.

Here's what I haven't found yet: I read the bit about how water is the best cooling solution, but 2 worries are corrosion and bacteria/algae. I know about killcoils or dead-water for killing growth, but I don't remember seeing how you fight corrosion when using water in one of these kits. So here are my questions:

1) How do you stop corrosion in a system like the XSPC when using water only?
2) Should I just use a pre-mix and forget about water?
3) How much of a temp difference will h2o make over pre-mix?
4) If I use pre-mix, do I still need a killcoil and/or corrosion inhibitor?
5) What pre-mix is regarded as the best?
6) Are there any upgrades I should opt in for with the kit I mentioned?

Thanks in advance for being understanding of a newbie and his (probably stupid) questions.

Also, total side thought for the future: Does anybody know if its possible to buy the "Sub-Zero Cryo-tec" system that Digital Storm uses in their systems (or a product similar). I read through the "Exploring below-ambient cooling" thread and was quite intrigued, but there's no way I'm going that extreme if I need a whole separate "tub" or other cooling box for my desktop. BUT, if I could have a fully internal system that could give me a few extra degrees below ambient with fairly low maintenance, I may consider it for a future build, assuming it's cost effective.

More about : preventing corrosion

Best solution

February 1, 2013 4:42:51 PM

From this article: http://www.xoxide.com/water-cooling.html

Water Cooling Liquid