gamekeeper

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2012
Hi guys,

Whilst not being a complete Noob to the site, this is my first post. A great & informative site.

I need to replace my Desktop internal DVD drive. The existing is an IDE Sony Optiarc which has been a piece of cr@p ever since I bought it.
It does work - sometimes. I am tentatively thinking of getting an External case to put it in - to use in an emergency !?

(1) Replacement Drive:
My desktop is now SATA, so the replacement drive will be sata also.
Are there any recommendations out there please ?
Is 'speed' the only thing to look for ?
I might consider a Lightscribe unit.
I won't buy Sony again.

see (B) for further details

(2) External Case:
Can I buy just a bare external case to put my old Sony into ?
Is it worth buying an external drive & swapping the internals ? Is it the Case that decides the 'type' (IDE or SATA) or the actual drive ?
It's no use buying an IDE External,,,,, cos I'll need a sata drive to go in the D.Top. If I get a sata external, will the IDE drive work in the case ?

I now have a USB 3.0 interface. Does this enhance my choices ?
Would an external USB 3 enclosure, make my IDE drive 'transfer' at USB3 rates ?

Not a life threatening problem, but my gear needs to last a long time, so like to get it right from the off.

All the best

Answer 1: A nice high speed DVD burner is about 30 bucks. I've honestly never had a problem with Optiarcs and I've owned many. A 12x BluRay burner can be had for around 60 bucks if that's something you might be looking for, Asus makes a nice one as does Sony (granted you have a predisposition to buying Sony). Lightscribe is nice to have but in all honesty I've never used it. DVD drives are extremely mature and they're all more or less the same, I rarely use mine as I get most of my stuff from the internet.