Sign in with
Your question

Would A 5970 Work Well With My System? Also... What Is Resolution?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 8, 2010 8:32:14 PM

Hello,
i am just getting into computer gaming, i'm used to playing games on my Xbox 360 on my 42 inch LCD, which i also use as a computer monitor, i use a wireless mouse/keyboard from my sofa and use my arm rest as a mouse mat.

I have noticed that games don't look as a impressive on a large high resolution tv, which is one of the main reasons i am interested in pc gaming, the graphical quality being better.

My present system is a Q6600, 2 GB DDR2 Ram, 8800GT, MSI G31M3 Mobo ,600 Watt PSU.

The motherboard has no ability to change CPU voltage or perform other overclocking operations sadly, i've considered purchasing a new one.

What i really want is to be able to play Crysis Wars online with no skipping on max settings.

It's come to my awareness that resolution has something to do with graphical quality.

If resolution is taken to mean number of pixels diplayed, then i can see that this makes sense.

What has thrown me off a little, is that i have always associated resolution with the size of windows explorer and desktop, i figured if i set the resolution on games higher it would make things harder to see.

I haven't tested this out, but maybe someone could clear up this matter for me.

My motherboard has a single Pci-e slot, so it seems if i don't want to buy a new motherboard the ATI 5970 would be the best choice and going by this benchmark chart i found through google;

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-hd-5970,2474...

It performs similarly to 2 x 5870 Crossfired.

This seems a better option than purchasing two crossfired cards, as it would save me money by not having to replace my motherboard and also, i have observed the 5970 would be cheaper than two 5870 cards.