Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need help with first time custom built

Last response: in Systems
March 24, 2010 4:22:33 AM

Hi I was looking around for a built that might look like something I want but I cant find something that calls out to me, I used to visit a website where they had many builds by price range and the guy would update the price range to include new hardware that has decrease and will work better for the price range. However, I forgot the name of the website and I haven't been able to find it. I was looking around and after many searches this website looks like the best place to get advise.

so this is whats on my mind, I am not too good at this so any help will be greatly appreciated, thank you in advance.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE:This Friday or next.
BUDGET RANGE:$900-$1100

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, video editing, Internet.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED:keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com, Tiger.com

PARTS PREFERENCES: I was looking at Intel core i7 and Asus P7P55D-E Deluxe

OVERCLOCKING:mmm idk what that is, so no.

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Whats the difference?

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1440x900, 1920x1080) I have a 22" monitor and a 32" 1080p Tv that I use as a second monitor when I need dual screen.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I would like a quiet PC, something that wont burn quick because I will spend most of my time using it. it will only rest most likely on weekends.

More about : time custom built

Best solution

March 24, 2010 5:27:57 AM

Here is a sample config...

As for your questions -
SLI - It is a Nvidia specific name for a technology that enables to run 2 similar video cards together to gain more performance
Crossfire - ATI specific name for the same...

2. Overclocking - It is increasing the clock speed of the CPU...