Sign in with
Your question

Need some pointers for OC on 3570k.

Last response: in Overclocking
February 3, 2013 12:38:46 AM

Hello, in the near future I will be building myself a new gaming rig. This will be my first build. I want to overclock the 3570k processor, but I have never overclocked either. I tried to once on my current store bought PC but the BIOS would not allow it.

I don't really know anything about overclocking at all. I read somewhere that with the 3570k you can overclock to 4.0-4.2ghz without having to change your voltage, is this true? If this is true, since I am inexperienced to overclocking I may go this route first before I try going any higher. What sort of cooler would you recommend for me to do that overclock? I have been looking at the Corsair h70, but as I said I am an OC newbie, I don't know if this cooler would be sufficient.

Any tips on this matter and overclocking in general is greatly appreciated, thanks!

More about : pointers 3570k

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
February 3, 2013 1:33:49 AM

Hey,

Yes the i5 3570k can easily get to 4ghz. How far you get depends from chip to chip and on your cooling (but 4ghz can be done rather easily). Ivy Bridge CPU's run hotter than Sandy bridge so I recommend you get some nice cooling. I would not go with the h70, but with a good air cooler. For a similar price you could get a Noctua NH D14 ($80). It is an excellent air cooler, and its a better choice than a closed loop liquid cooler. If you are on a budget you could go with the CM hyper 212 as Azn Cracker pointed out. It too is a good cooler and considering the price its a great deal.

There are many articles about overclocking the i5 3570k, so take a look at some of the stickies found here in the overclocking forum of Tomshardware.

Hope this helps!
Related resources
February 3, 2013 1:37:36 AM

Best answer selected by rowdymoody.
February 3, 2013 2:31:54 AM