Sign in with
Your question

Any Point In My Overclock

Last response: in Overclocking
February 3, 2013 1:47:00 AM

Hello, everyone, I just have a quick question in regards to my overclock. I have a FX-6300, a Gigabyte GA‑970A‑DS3, and a Hyper 212 Evo. Now then, due to the fact that my board isn't very good for OC'ing (it's not) and I don't have that large of a PSU (520W), I chose to just OC my 6300 at 4.0GHz (already tried going higher, Prime95 fails miserably and cores start to shut down probably due to not having enough juice). The thought that occurred to me, though, is that I wonder if there's any point in my OC if all I can reach is 4.0GHz. The chip is, at default, 3.5GHz and can turbo up to 4.1GHz under load. Would there really be any improvement in performance with a constant 4.0GHz as oppose to 3.5GHz w/ Turbo?

Mind you, I don't have the means to upgrade to a better board or PSU right now because, quite honestly, this is my first build and I've only put it together just a week ago, so I'm a bit drained on cash. I'm mostly just wondering if I should just go back to stock or keep it where it's at. My CPU is cool enough with having a reported temp of 40C under heaviest load and around 20C under idle (as opposed to it being around 15C idling and 35C under load at stock).

More about : point overclock

a b À AMD
a c 150 K Overclocking
February 3, 2013 2:56:56 AM

Voltage?

BTW you aren't idling at 20C! ;) 
m
l
February 3, 2013 4:44:48 AM

amuffin said:
Voltage?

BTW you aren't idling at 20C! ;) 

I had it set at auto.
It's 1.3V pretty even.
No fluctuations.

And with nothing going on right now on my computer at all, it's at 21C.
Max temps reached during both Prime 95 and Intel Burn were 40C.

Unless I'm confusing idle for something else.
In which case, I'm sorry.
First build, first overclock.
I did some research on overclocking prior to actually getting my parts and spent this last week looking into it, as well.