AMD new mid range system build - got any suggestions?

oktakill

Distinguished
Mar 19, 2010
I want to build a new mid range system for general gaming and doing graphics on,

Im a noob to computers and have been reading up on forums learning,
most posts seem to lean towards AMD of which i have an old one of and it has served me well so I think i'll stick with them
So here are my build thoughts so far, any input is good, cheers

AMD Phenom™ II X4 QUAD CORE 955
Asus M4A79XTD EVO AM3 790X Motherboard
G.Skill Ripjaws 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz
XFX ATI Radeon™ HD 5770
Antec TP 650W TruePower ATX PSU
Antec Six Hundred Gaming Black ATX Tower
Win7 Ultimate

Any thoughts? ...... am I on the right track?

Solution
Well what resolution would u game on? If less than 1920 x 1080 then ya you could get by with a HD 5770 else i'd look to hit a HD5830 or ideally a HD 5850 :p 770 chipset would be fine

peety10

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2010
very similar to my sys, same proc, vid,ram.PS . i am running a GB ma790MPT mobo and win 7 pro 64. great system quiet no issues in or out of S3 sleep with tuner card. i am not hardcore gamer, i do get 50-60 FPS in WOW with everything maxed.

cmcghee358

Distinguished
Make sure the 955 is a C3 stepping, aka MBOX.

I personally would get at least an Antec 900, but I am prone to go bigger than necessary. Antec 900 is a very nice case for usually less than 100 bucks.

As for Win7 Ultimate, is there a particular reason why you are getting ultimate?

jsant010

Distinguished
Mar 18, 2010