Your question

I am new at building PC. Need avice on gaming PC

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
March 25, 2010 10:56:17 PM

Hi, guys.
I will move to Arizona (hot weather) in August 2010.
I will need a new computer around that time.
I am not in a hurry so it's possible that I will build it in October 2010.
But anyway, I wanna have a basic idea of how my future PC is going to be like.

*Summary*
Price: $1200 or less around summer 2010 time period. (I can wait until winter).
Games: starcraft2, Diablo3, Splinter cell:Conviction, Dead rising2, and Crysis2
OC: I live in hot area, new to overclocking, and I need to pay for electricity so I don't want my computer to take too much electricity.

First of all, I don't know how much I can spend but I don't want it to exceed $1200 when I include everything; monitor, speaker. I don't know much about which speaker is better but I think cheap $20 should be fine. When it comes to a monitor, I am currently using 19 inch but I want it to be at least 21 inch.
If I think monitor cost $200, I guess pc should cost around $1000.

When it comes to games that I want to run, I am planning to run starcraft2, Diablo3, Splinter cell:conviction, Dead rising2, Crysis2 without any problems. Shorter loading time, full frame rate at high option would be great. I don't see much difference between high and very high so i am happy as long as I can run at high option. I don't like medium option though. When it comes to AA, well....x8 is too extreme, as long as i can turn on x2 or x4 for AA, I am happy.

Currently, I am thinking about i5 750, i7 860, 920 or 930. I heard that all of these can be overclocked at 3.6Ghz. And I heard that i5 750 and i7 860 uses cheaper socket motherboard.