Sign in with
Your question

Question about ram

Last response: in Memory
Anonymous
a b } Memory
November 28, 2010 4:31:36 PM

Hi,
My Sisters Computer Is Running On 512mb Ddr 2 Ram And On Top Of That Its Running On A Igp. Even I Know That's Not Good Lol And Her Computer Runs Realy Slow So I'm Gonna Buy Her Some Ram, I'm Thinking Of Buying
This Http://www.ebuyer.com/product/128499 . Only Problem Is The Ram I Found In Her Computer Is 1.8 Supply Voltage
And The One I'm Gonna Buy Is 2v. Will This Make It Not Compatible?, I'm New To This So I Don't Rly Know. My Sister Has A
Geforce6100sm-m V1.0a Mobo. Also Was One More Thing I Wanted To Ask Will It Be Ok With Just One Stick That's Whats In There Now So I I'magine So. Thanks For Any Help U Can Provide :) 

More about : question ram

a c 347 } Memory
November 28, 2010 4:45:44 PM

In general, do not mix-match RAM {Speed, CAS Timings, Voltage, or Type {including chip/side, etc.}. If it were 'me' I would either get a 2x1GB KIT {32-bit OS} or 2x2GB Kit {64-bit OS}.

ref - ECS GeForce6100SM-M (1.0A) http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Product/Product_Detail...
Good 'budget' RAM is Crucial
(ECS) GeForce6100SM-M (1.0) - http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=GeFor...(1.0)

(ECS) GeForce6100SM-M2 (V1.0A) http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=GeFor...(V1.0A)
Anonymous
a b } Memory
November 28, 2010 6:22:37 PM

ok thanks but i wasnt planning using the 512mb stick thats allrdy in there. i was gona install one 2gb stick and leave one slot open incase they wanted to upgrade to 4gb in the future. so its best to buy 2x1gb? so i cant go with the one 2gb 2v i listed above? (i think in performance wise it would run beter even with one stick then it is running atm)
p.s i dont mind sacraficing a bit of performance thx :) 
Related resources
a c 347 } Memory
November 28, 2010 6:46:56 PM