I5 2500k Overclocking issues

Technically Luke

Honorable
Feb 4, 2013
Hey guys! Before writing a post the length of your arm with a bunch of information that may or may not be useful in it, I'm just going to cut straight to the chase. If you need any extra info, please let me know and I will be happy to provide it. Also keep in mind I'm still very new to this, so if I'm missing something obvious, or leaving out important info, please let me know.

I recently upgraded to an i5 2500k CPU after deciding I wanted to dive into the world of overclocking. Only one problem. It's been a few weeks since I started OCing my CPU, and got it up to 4.3Ghz on air (Using the Cool Master Hyper 212 EVO) I was able to run Prime95 for 12+ hours with the temps never going above 63 degrees Celsius, and usually staying within the 40-50 degree range.

I decided I wanted to see how far I could push my CPU with out raising voltages or damaging it, so I bumped it up to 4.5Ghz in my BIOS (Click BIOS II v2.3 on my MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO ) My PC failed to boot and I reset everything and went to 4.4 instead. PC booted up fine, temps were great idle (20-30 degrees) but when I ran Prime95 it Blue screened in a matter of seconds. I reset it to 4.3, and ran Prime95 with the same success I had before (12+ hours in Prime95, good temps). I decided to look for some help to try to get a higher stable overclock, and low and behold found the Tom's Hardware guide to OCing the i5 2500k and the i7 2600k. I followed it to a T, and everything went great. That is, until I got into windows to start testing for stability, opened up CPU-Z, Real Temp and Core Temp, only to find that after 3-10 seconds of opening the programs, they would show I was running at stock speeds (3.3GHz) and my temps reflect this as well.