Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking GTX 680 4GB

Last response: in Overclocking
February 8, 2013 8:21:38 AM

I'm pretty new to overclocking my Graphics Card.

Here is my system
It's on a dutch site, but I'm sure you'll get all the information.

My main GPU currently gets to 87C when I run the 3D Mark Fire Strike benchmark. The other gets to 80C or something.

I want to get a higher score, to get a chance at winning a Assissins Creed 3 copy, and maybe even 3D Mark 2013 Advanced Edition. This is a national contest in the Netherlands.

My question is: Will it be possible to overclock, when I already reach these high temperatures. And how should I do it? I have MSI Afterburner, but was too afraid to ever touch those sliders.

Any suggestions?
a b K Overclocking
February 8, 2013 8:30:29 AM

i wouldnt try for much of an overclock with those temps... try putting more case fans in, or if your willing to spend the big bucks, put aftermarket coolers on those cards
a b U Graphics card
a b K Overclocking
February 8, 2013 8:32:17 AM

I run mine at 1258mhz and that give me about 1300 in real

Don't touch the Vcore, set the Power limit to the max and you should be ok, mine don't heat a lot more (maybe 5celsius more) as i don't give any Voltage more...

Higher settings don't always go faster (i can set up to 1350 but it's slower than 1258 for me...) Make sure to take the time to ensure you gain performance and back when it's the time...

Not all card overclock well and heat is the major problem with all PC component (i already think 87 is enormous as i have a reference design EVGA SuperClocked and even overclock to 1258 and 7122 ram it don't reach 80 however, my card is one of the first 2GB model as i bought it in the first month it came out...
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
a b K Overclocking
February 8, 2013 9:03:49 AM

87 degrees? man, i would not even consider increasing anything other than fan speed. Your card is how much vs that free game?