Rex Humbard

Distinguished
Mar 27, 2010
G'day,

Just upgraded my PC using

Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3R P55
Intel Core i5 750 Processor LGA1156 2.66GHz 8MB Cache CPU
G Skill 4G(2x2G) DDR3 1600Mhz PC12800

Will not boot!!! No beeps, in fact runs for about 1s to 2s then resets and goes again. Sounds for all money like a short resetting the PSU.

Gigabyte uses this phasing LED system and according to the manual the more LEDs illuminated the higher the CPU loading. All 6 are illuminated for that initial period before it resets.

I replaced 430W PSU with 600W OCZ PSU and no difference.

Have done everything suggested and I'm now bread-boarding it with nothing installed apart from the CPU.

I guess I'd like some advice on whether to try another mobo or CPU first. I read somewhere that you should always try the mobo then ram then CPU when diagnosing by replacement.

Any thoughts?

Given that I'm a home builder (fairly experienced) I'm now getting a little nervous that I may not get a refund so I'd like to nail it first time.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

You have worked through our standard checklist and troubleshooting thread:
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-read-posting-boot-problems
yes?

I mean work through, not just read over it.

Breadboard - that isolates any kind of case problem.

Breadboard with just motherboard, CPU & HSF, case speaker, and PSU.
You do have a case speaker installed, right? If not, you really, really need one. If you case or motherboard didn't come with a system speaker you can buy one here:
http://www.cwc-group.com/casp.html

You can turn on the PC by momentarily shorting the two pins that the case power switch goes to.

You should hear a series of long, single beeps indicating memory problems.
Silence indicates a problem with (in most likely order) the PSU, motherboard, or CPU.