Sign in with
Your question

Newbie Here... Need advice.

Last response: in Systems
March 28, 2010 4:56:53 AM

I am interested in a few upgrades. I read the sticky so I'll just use the template.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Sometime in April.
BUDGET RANGE: $500ish After Rebates (I'm a tad over 400 here but I left a bit of head room for extra expenses)
SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Multimedia, Gaming, Internet browsing.
PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I would like to reuse my DVD/R drive, BDR drive, Galaxy GeForce 9500GT 1gb, keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS, Case(if it will be sufficient with cooling), and Cables.
PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com, or whoever is cheapest.
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: US
PARTS PREFERENCES: What I have picked so far...
MSI 760GM-E51 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130254
AMD Phenom II X4 955 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103808
OCZ OCZ550FTY 550W PSU http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341022
OCZ 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227503
Plus some Arctic Silver compound and other little odds and ends.

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe (Only if I will ever need it) I would also worry about extra cooling then if needed.
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: I need to research what this is but I doubt it. If it is using multiple GPU's then it's unlikely if I can get by on my current GPU.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Again, still need to learn a little about this but my main plan is to have it connected to my 42" for games and Blu-Ray intensive use. Not so much gaming as movies though.
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Really not looking for a high end gaming rig but I would like to be able to play most titles new and old on medium settings.

More about : newbie advice

a b B Homebuilt system
March 28, 2010 5:52:39 AM