Crossfire and Amperage??

ashkaji

Distinguished
May 14, 2010
I have this power supply from my last build and after doing some research Ive discovered that ontop of wattage some videocards have Amperage requirments.

Cooler Master Real Power Pro RS-750-ACAA-A1 750W ATX12V

17-171-024-S03

This is the powersupply, it says it has 19Amp per 12v. Im new to this and figured I should double check with experts :D

Does this mean if my videocard uses 2 6-8 pins, that it would only be getting 38A from the two rails? Or am I doing the math wrong lol.

Im hoping to reuse this PSU with an I5 build with a 5850 or 5870, and possibly crossfiring them in the future.

from here at toms, sticky Power Requirments and Specs for Popular Videocards Guide

5850 requires - Recommended is a 500watt PSU with two 75 watt 6 pin PCI express connectors. 600 watt PSU with four 6 pin connectors to run crossfire is recommended but I suggest a 650 watt for some head room.
Recommended 42 Amps on the 12 volt rail for single card and 50 Amps for Crossfire.

5870 requires - Recommended is a 500 watt PSU with two 6 pin 75watt PCI Express connectors. If you plan to crossfire you will need a 750 watt PSU.
Recommended 42 Amps on the 12 volt rail for single card and 63 Amps for Crossfire.

I fear my powersupply just doesnt pack the amps needed for these new gen cards. I hope someone can confirm if this is correct.

It'll mean buying a new PSU if this one is insufficient. Recommendations would be great :D Heard good things about the HX series.

Solution
You are fine. Remember, Volts multiplied by amps equals power. So they are directly related since volts is a constant in this case at +12V. I have always found that the split rails of +12V are weird and do not add up in the manner you would think. It's not even constant across all brands. But let's take a look at your power supply.