Two 120 gb or One 240 gb SSD? Does it matter?

mayan50

Distinguished
May 4, 2009
Hello all,

I'm building a new system for my office.

I won't be putting media files on the system, only datasets that I'll be analyzing (I'm a statistician). I've decided to only use SSD, no more spinning platters.

I know I'm getting a 120 Crucial M4 for my OS and Apps. I figure at a maximum I need another 120 of space, so here is my question:

Is there any difference in having a single 240 versus two 120 SSDs? i.e., in terms of speed, garbage collection (I'll be moving data files on and off pretty regularly, which is why I always kept separate HDs in the past for defrag reasons).

Thanks!

Solution
I have money right now to get a Crucial M4 128 which is going for $125 on New Egg.

But my thing is for future proofing somewhat should I make the jump to a 256GB for that bit of extra NAND boost.

Just wanted to know other peoples opinions and suggestions.

If you can afford the 256, get it. Always go with the biggest you can afford. But if that's not feasible, then 128 it is. The biggest rule of thumb is, as I said earlier in this thread, to insure you leave 30-35% free space, minimum. Ideal is 50% free, but most of us want more performance, so we load them a little more. :)

tokencode

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2010
The single 240 will be faster than either of the 120s individually, I would just get the 240, you can assign seperate drive letter to the single physical volume if you raelly want to, but I would just leave it as a single drive for maximum flexability.

mayan50

Distinguished
May 4, 2009
Thanks much. Another question...

So the statistics package that I use loads a data set into RAM and works on it in RAM (i.e., it's much faster than the approach SAS uses). Given this, I'm back to thinking that the only speed advantage I get storing datasets on SSD is the file open and save times. Given SSDs deteriorate with each write, maybe it's not worth it?

Thoughts on this?

tokencode