Interpreting MemTest86 Results

UnknownSoldier

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2009
Hi,

I just recently (this week) purchased 8GB (4 x 2) of new Mushkin Radioactive ram. After a day I got a random bluescreen, and I noticed it listed memory as the cause. The ram is compatible, and I haven't received another bluescreen (happened Tuesday). Decided to run MemTest86 but I have no experience interpreting the results, so I was hoping someone could interpret this for me.

pic0538b.jpg

Thanks.

Solution
It does not matter really. All you need to know there is that those sectors couldn't pass the test and were logged as bad sectors located at those addresses. You may want to try and narrow down which chip has the problem. Run memtest with single chip at a time and try again.

pinaklonkar

Distinguished
Sep 8, 2010
It does not matter really. All you need to know there is that those sectors couldn't pass the test and were logged as bad sectors located at those addresses. You may want to try and narrow down which chip has the problem. Run memtest with single chip at a time and try again.

Solution

UnknownSoldier

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2009
Is it possible for MemTest to give false positives?

Finally had time to run it again last night for another 6 hours, and no errors came up. I haven't changed anything since the last test.

UnknownSoldier

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2009
So I got another bluescreen tonight, ironically right before I was going to test the ram.

Anyway, I ran 2 passes on each stick in single channel as I only had a few hours tonight and I won't have a chance to run tests in the next week. All the ram cleared without an error.

So since I got the ram a week ago I've ran three, six hour tests on all the ram in at once. Two tests came back clean, and one came back with those errors. I've experienced some random program crashes ofFirefox (which I know can be intensive on memory at times), and WoW, and two blue screens which said something about Memory.