Sign in with
Your question

Older IDE DVD Drive-Compatible w/ Windows 7 64bit OS

Last response: in Systems
March 29, 2010 9:39:15 PM

:hello:  My first build. I have a '06 BenQ DW1670 DVD Burner with IDE connector + 4 pin power , it is brand new but no box or info. I know I can get a new SATA DVD for about $25 but I plan to buy a Blu-Ray as soon as I can afford one, so I would prefer not to buy another DVD drive. So far I have a case + PSU + ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO mobo , soon I get AMD CPU, 4GB DDR3, WD or Seagate HDD and plan to run Windows 7 64bit. OK, when all my stuff is carefully put together I assume the next step is press power and pray , after it will "post" I have a speaker so it will beep and request me to install OS (something like that). My question is will the IDE DVD drive ( my ASUS mobo has a IDE connector and even a ribbon cable was included ) have any reason not to read the Windows 7 disc ? Being a first time builder I am not sure if I can open the bios and see what drive is set as the default boot drive but I am hoping the IDE DVD can be used for a while till I get the Blu Ray. Hope I made this clear enough. Any help will be greatly appreciated and some day hope to help someone else. Thank You. :sol: 
March 29, 2010 10:03:22 PM

I don't think that the IDE dvd drive would have any difficulty reading a dvd. As long as the cables are connected correctly at both ends, it should work. You should be able to pop in the Windows 7 install disk, boot from the drive and be on your merry way. :D 
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
March 29, 2010 10:04:16 PM

You can install Windows 7 off of a IDE DVD drive without issue. You will need to get into your BIOS though to change your boot sequence. Another option is to press F8 (or Fx Boot Sequence) when you see your post loading. This will allow you to chose which drive to boot from without going into your BIOS.
m
l
Related resources
March 29, 2010 10:53:20 PM

tecmo34 said: