PSU question, or Peeved@reStartUps

kidkboom

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2009
I know how hateful it is to answer a question similar to one(s) already asked, and I'm sure I fall in that category; I will try to be short-spoken and succinct. After a year of trying to figure this one out on my own reckoning, I've got little to nothing.

So I bought what I thought was an awesome computer. I wanted to build one but I have no experience and only had 1 wad of money (ie no room for error) so I bought: a quad-core vista 64 tower with 8g ram and a 4870 512 radeon card, 500 gb hdd. this is from memory @ work and I will return tonight and post pertinent details including mobo which slips my mind atm.

As a note, I do 2 things: a lot of dubstep production, and pandering to a holmesian video game penchant that borders on addiction. some of you can relate. =) so electronic production and gaming are my only priorities.

so instead of a build I buy this computer, last year. I also bought oblivion and started playing right off.

within 2 days, i started getting my problem - during GRAFX intensive game moments, on HIGH-POWER GFX intense games, my PC restarts.

Now at first I wasn't panicked but since the pc was new I thought it was PSU. Guy on the phone at (<choke>, ibuypower) convinced me it was my software. i bought it and continued.

so it's months later and i see this happen: repetiviely on oblivion, also on fallout 3, also on gta 4 (had to uninstall and sell due to never getting 2m of play without restart), and occasionally on spore or swkotor, though for the most part those less-rigorous games never cause the problem. notably, microsoft games NEVER cause the problem such as aoe and xml based such as civ4 always work wonderfully.

So I acquired Alpha Protocol and the restarts start again. At this point I'm beginning to think PSU again and want to approach replacing it.