Best cooler?

Sixsixx

Honorable
Feb 7, 2013
Hey guys, I'm relatively new to overclocking, and I've heard from pretty much everywhere that if I'm interested in getting a serious boost out of my CPU then I should look at a cooler other than the stock cooler.

So I've come to four separate choices, could you guys tell me which one would be best, they're all around the same price.

1. Corsair H100 [Liquid]
2. Noctua NH-D14 [Air]
3. Xigmatek Dark Knight Nighthawk Edition [Air]
4. A custom liquid cooling loop [Obviously Liquid]

So, which would be best? I've done the measurements and all of them will fit fine.

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770k
Motherboard: Gigabyte B75M-D3H (Piece of ***, I know, I'm looking to upgrade to a Z77 Extreme4)

Thanks!
- Ryan

What cooler to get depends on how far you want to go on your overclock.

If ~4.2Ghz if your goal, then you dont need anything more significant than a Hyper 212 EVO.
More than that, I advise jumping straight to the Noctua, mid-range cooling isn't worth it IMO. The noctua performs the same as a H100i and cheaper.
Custom water-cooling if you want extreme overclocks, want to run a hefty overclock on a daily basis or want it to be quiet when under load.

HoboCannibaL

Honorable
Jan 17, 2013
if you upgrade to the extreme4....watch your ram height, you will either have to use the pull config with the hyper 212 evo (assuming you want to use all 4 dimm slots), or offset the push fan a little bit if you're not going to use low profile ram.

Also, with the h100, they are very loud and you'll need to buy 2 more fans if you want to do a push pull config with it. From what i can tell with the h100 is that they have a lot of problems recently having to deal with "fan rattle" "noisy pump" "high pitched whine" and "sounds like a jet engine" complaints when being used. Claims say updating the firmware solves these issues, others say it doesn't.