Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Can I use this old hdd or buy a new one for i5 3570K build

Last response: in Storage
May 2, 2012 9:20:43 PM

Hello, I have been planning an i5 3570K build for a while now, but I have a question on the HDD. I'm currently using this from my Hp Paviliion:
WD
Size: 640 GB
Interface: SATA
Transfer rating: 3.0 Gb/sec
Rotational Speed: 7200 RPM
CD/DVD disc drive

Is ths good enough to re-use, or will it slow down my newer i5 build. I have noticed this hdd is 3.0 Gb/sec compared to some 6.0 Gb/sec. Is this a big deal? Will it slow down my gaming. Sorry, noob here.

More about : hdd buy 3570k build

Best solution

May 2, 2012 10:35:48 PM

It will be perfectly fine to use, as long as you only need 640gb. It won't slow down gaming, at least not noticeably. It's 7200rpm and anything over that you have to pay quite a bit more money for, or get a SSD (also a lot of money)
Just re-use the HDD. It will be fine :) 
May 2, 2012 10:45:34 PM

jrwizbang said:
It will be perfectly fine to use, as long as you only need 640gb. It won't slow down gaming, at least not noticeably. It's 7200rpm and anything over that you have to pay quite a bit more money for, or get a SSD (also a lot of money)
Just re-use the HDD. It will be fine :) 

Thanks!
m
l
Related resources
May 2, 2012 10:45:48 PM

Best answer selected by 123364.
m
l
a c 99 G Storage
May 2, 2012 10:50:38 PM

BUT, you WILL have to reinstall Windows to it.

Too many changes, violates the EULA.

You'd want a fresh install anyway!
m
l
a b G Storage
May 2, 2012 10:53:18 PM

I disagree, with any high end build, putting it all on mechanical drives defeats the purpose of building a fast PC. Would never use a mechanical HD for botting or main apps ever again.
m
l
May 2, 2012 10:56:16 PM