PC won't boot with two RAMS

chuckycheese

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2010
Hello,I'm a noob. I'm like a person with a car and if something happen to it, doesn't know how to fix it. I need some guidance on fixing my pc.

My old ram modules got replace, because one is broken, I think. But it wont work when two ram modules are place on the motherboard.

Motherboard: ASUS M2N MX SE PLUS

RAM: (2) DDR2 PC2-6400 OCZ Reaper HPC
http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/memory/ocz_ddr2_pc2_6400_reaper_cl4_4gb_edition

Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+

Thanks

Lutfij

Titan
then whats ram # 1?

usually a problem like this means ram 1 an d ram 2 have two different timings..causing your mobo to hickup.

So lemme get this straight: you had a dual channel kit and now ,cos one malfunctioned, replaced only on stick of the same brand/model?

well, now you have sticks with different serial numbers and in essence a mismatch in batch number, manufacturing tech, temps, and timings etc. Welcome to the forums, newcomer!

suat

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2009
Make sure

(1) you have fitted the RAM sticks both properly and in the correct slots on the motherboard.

(2) the voltages of the two RAM sticks are equal. The timings are not so important because motherboard will operate the RAM sticks at the lowest values.

Lutfij

Titan
the voltages of the two RAM sticks are equal. The timings are not so important because motherboard will operate the RAM sticks at the lowest values.
knock on jaquith on the forum's and he'll give you a better understanding of ram timings..its not that easy while matching two rams of different serials/batch/silicon density etc....

@ OP - is this the exact model number of your kit?
4GB (2x2048) D/C Kit PN - OCZ2RPR800C44GK