Need Advice on 3D Animation Workstation Build

The_Spave

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2010
Just a quick note, I’ve read almost every article and forum post I could find on building your own machine, and have read everything I could get my hands on that describes the technologies, as well as the supported technologies PDFs and sites from 3D Studio Max, and Maya. So I am posting this to see what all of you advanced system builders think of this build and can advise me on. Thanks!

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Over the next few months. I will be purchasing in “groups”, and will not mind fluctuations in price provided its not some crazy difference.

BUDGET RANGE: I’ve tried to keep each group down to $300-400 so I don’t have to save up for a long time for each group (I’m not good at saving large amounts of money :p)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: 3DS Max and Maya, Photoshop CS4, Premier CS4

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Mouse, Keyboard, Speakers, Sound card (Also I have dual monitors currently, but the list includes a new one with an IPS panel that will be used as my main monitor once I purchase it)

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Generally go with NewEgg.com, but have the option of using Amazon Prime 2 day shipping so when Amazon carries the part and its not far off from newegg I will get it from there.
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA

OVERCLOCKING: Yes (but only moderate OC’ing)
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Below is a list of all of the components I have already selected.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Group 1:
Antec Twelve Hundred Black Steel ATX Full Tower

CORSAIR CMPSU-750HX 750W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Group 2:
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor