mr_plastic

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2010
Ok so lately my pc has been running slower and slower, so i was thinking either to upgrade its parts to a decent gaming computer or to just buy a new computer.
The cpu im using is an AMD athlon 64 Processor 3700+ and the motherboard is a A8N-LA with integrated GeForce 6150. It lags like crazy when I'm just playing online mmos (if your wondering its wonderking) and steaming videos.

There are problems with both options:
1. I have no experience dealing with building computers. Also here in Canada parts for building a computer are very scarce.

2. If i buy a new computer the problem is: What do I do with the old one? and also what desktop computer would you guys (the community) suggest? Remember that I live in Canada and so many models are restricted/not available up here.. Also if you wouldn't mind could you guys post a link...if available.

My ideal computer would be able to run Starcraft 2 well (that is not max settings, medium setting would suffice) and be able to carry out the school work portion i.e. microsoft word etc. Since I'm in university my budget must be $1000 max or else I won't be able to afford textbooks!

For those that reply I would like to say thank-you.

I suggest you first use the windows "disk clean" file or "ie privacy keeper" a free download to clean up your hardrive. Then I suggest you try a mid range video card, such as a brand with the 4670 chipset, if your board has a pci-e slot. Your files will run much faster with any video card. Onboard video may run at 5-10 frams a second, versus 300 or more for a separate video card. If your power supply doesn't have a pci-e 6 pin connector, be sure to select a low or mid range card that doesn't need it. I use a fanless xt2400 low end card, and it's plenty fast for my limited gaming. This option is much cheaper than buying a new system, and you can transfer the card to your next system.

Blckhaze

Distinguished
May 21, 2010