Major Impact in FPS even thought my PC is high-end (sort of)

HI

i'm new to the sight so plz don't put negative comments in this post

3 months ago, my mom bought me a PC since i got promoted to the secondary level. Here's the specs:

ATI Radeon 4890
Intel Quad Core 2.66
Gigabyte BIOS
16 Gb of RAm
Windows XP proffesional 64-bit

2-3 weeks since i bought my new computer, i was able to run any game in maxed out settings like Crysis, Fallout 3 etc. But this days, im experiencing a major drop in fps. I searched all forums through the internet. They said "change to XP, or change the graphic driver, format you PC and check for viruses". I've done everything. but still, no luck. I tried to open my case, and clean the dusts on the graphic card. But still, the graphic card is killing. I seached for problems in the hdd and memory leaks but it appears theres no problems.

Plz help >< i alwas get a low fps in all games like around 20-30 fps. Any suggestions would be appreciated ^^
20 answers Last reply
More about major impact thought high sort
  1. run GPU-Z, makes sure your video card is running up to spec
  2. wat is GPU-Z? 9 (sry, i'm not that good in computers)
  3. my average GPU temperature is 75 degrees
  4. but i still can't understand why my fps is shuttering :S

is it bcoz of CPU throttling?
  5. Daflip said:
    wat is GPU-Z? 9 (sry, i'm not that good in computers)

GPU-z is a software used to monitor your gpu's temp. You can use it to check the temp levels of the gpu during game paly.
  6. it's around 80 degrees when i play a game
  7. XP 64-bit is a bit problematic. Anyway, if your problem is in Crysis that's simply the way the game was made. It becomes tougher on your system as the game goes on so you may want to lower your settings.
  8. If you experience the problem in other games, especially in the same level at the same settings, then yeah something could be wrong.
  9. 80 degrees with a 4890 is perfectly good - they run hot.