Conservative OC - Working out pretty well

Hey guys,

Just figured I'd share my results on doing some very minor OC'ing. This is my first time ever trying to overclock, so guidance/suggestion is welcome.

My System:
Intel i5 -3570k
Asrock z77 extreme 4
Sapphire 7870 XT 2GB
Samsung 30nm 1600 DIMM 11-11-11-28 (stock)

I basically didn't do much, but the results are fairly decent.

I overclocked the CPU to 4.2GHz without touching the bus or the voltage. I'm running 1.216 currently at 4200MHz. In OCCT (only been running for 15min) my current CPU temp is 38.

I overclocked the RAM to 1866 9-10-9-24 Timings. Everything seems stable to this point

The GPU I overclocked from 975/1500 to 1180/1675. I started hitting some instability at 1200/1700, on test 2 in 3DMark I was getting flashing red boxes. I dialed it back a bit and it fixed it pretty well.

I pushed my 3DMark scores a bit by doing these things.
Initial: 3DMark:7419, Graphics:8047, Physics:6016, Combined:6011
End: 3DMark: 8560, Graphics:8581, Physics:8581, Combined:8379

Seems it worked out fairly decent thus far. I'm not trying to push the machine real hard, I just wanted a little "boost" in performance. Seems I got it with about 30 minutes investment.
10 answers Last reply
More about conservative working pretty well
  1. @ nearly an hour of OCCT, and CPU temp stable at 38 degrees. Seems this is working out fairly well, indeed.
  2. Just noticed on OCCT that each "Core" has a different temp when compared to the overall CPU. Looks like each core is high 50s, max is 59 atm. Would someone care to explain which to pay attention to, and why each core has a different temp as compared to the cpu as a whole (significant as 38 -59 is a jump). Thanks
  3. Something wrong with DirectX 10, so 3D results not showing.
  4. @belial88

PSU is Seasonic G Series

Haven't tried back clocking the GPU to see if it makes a difference. Also, having a hard time finding drivers/DirectX 10 from a reputable site. I'll keep looking.