Sign in with
Your question

How can I refill my reservoir?

Last response: in Overclocking
February 19, 2013 4:32:01 PM

Hello everyone,

My brother has a water cooling system in his computer, and yesterday he received a "CPU fan error" message. The CPU is running at a higher temperature, so I'm guessing that the coolant needs to be refilled, since the cooling system has never been maintained (the computer was purchased a year and a half ago). I've built over a dozen PCs in my life, but I have never worked with a water cooling system before, and I have no idea what I'm doing. I've read through several maintenance guides, but I'm still baffled.

It appears as if the reservoir is attached to the radiator, but there is no way to open the reservoir to drain the coolant. Also, the tubes are attached with clamps that cannot be removed. Is it possible that the water cooling system was made so that the coolant cannot be replaced? Here are some pictures of the system:

Radiator and reservoir

Tubes from radiator/reservoir

Waterblock

More about : refill reservoir

a c 126 K Overclocking
February 19, 2013 4:36:26 PM

hi,

It looks like a AIO (All In One) watercooler, these coolers generally don't require any maintenance and are closed meaning you can't refill them, well I don't know of a way, maybe someone else does.
m
l
a c 330 K Overclocking
February 19, 2013 4:44:32 PM

Closed loop coolers (if this is one) do not require coolant or maintenance. Also the CPU fan error is a BIOS message meaning that the CPU fan header does not detect a fan and can actually be turned off.

What temperatures is it running at now vs. before? Idle/load? It likely (I'm 97% sure) that it has nothing to do with coolant level (unless there have been signs of leaks) but either pump failure or an airlock...but also could have been due to dirt/debris clogging the radiator (if it was dirty).