Sign in with
Your question
Closed

OC'ing my Visiontek 3GB 7970 for a noob..

Last response: in Overclocking
February 20, 2013 3:22:09 PM

So I'm tempted to overclock my card but I've never done it before. It doesn't sound too hard from some of the guides I've read.

Take this one for example: -
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/radeon_hd_7970_ove...

Does that sound ok? Should I just bump the sliders up to match their screenshot? Probably not right!?

If I'm to increment steadily can anyone clarify the process exactly? So for e.g. they say in the article: -

"First off let us remind you that we always recommend increments of 25 MHz on core and memory (from the default base clock frequency upwards). In the first stage you overclock your GPU, in the second the memory.
Once you get artifacts or a lockup, back down 25 to 50 MHz and typically that is your stable result in it's highest threshold."

Does that mean then I should first increase the GPU clock in 25 Mhz increments and after each time run 3DMark test until it crashes and then back it down? Then once I get a stable GPU speed do I then go through the same process with the Memory speed?

Is there anything else I should do? Can I monitor the GPU temperature from the CCC software?

Cheers!

my specs: -
i5-3570K @ 4.0GHz | 3GB AMD Radeon HD 7970 | ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe | 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600Mhz | 240GB Corsair Force GT SSD |
1.5 TB Western Digital 7200RPM| 1KW Silverstone Strider PSU | NZXT Vulcan | Corsair H60 Cooler | ASUS VH236H 23"

Best solution

a c 125 U Graphics card
a c 125 K Overclocking
February 20, 2013 3:32:10 PM

Hi,

Yep you've pretty much got it sussed.

Start with the core:

1) up the frequency by 25Mhz
2) Test for stability with a game or benchmark
3) monitor temps whilst running the benchmark or playing the game (you can use CCC or something else like MSI afterburner or Hardware monitor)

If temps are ok and the overclock is stable then repeat the 3 steps.