Sign in with
Your question

Help me overclock my q9400 on a Hyper 212+

Last response: in Overclocking
February 21, 2013 11:39:40 AM

Hi everyone, verifiable overclocking newbie here, I'd like some advice on how to squeeze as much performance as I can out of this antiquated hardware. I've heard of people getting 3.0-3.6 GHz easily with air cooling, and while I'm not sure if I can get towards the upper echelon of that figure, I'm hoping just getting over 3 will be a decent accomplishment.

Now, some information about my relic of a PC, which I built back in 2007 but have upgraded every now and then to keep this at least mid-range (though by 2013, it's definitely showing its age).

Motherboard: ASUS P5B-E http://www.asus.com/Motherboard/P5BE/
RAM: ADATA 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) + two other 512 mb sticks, bringing the total to 5 GB
HSF: Cooler Master Hyper 212+
CPU: Intel q9400 @2.66 GHz

My current temps look like this in Real Temp for cores 1-4:

Minimum: 38c, 31c, 33c, 39c.
Maximum: 40c, 40c, 41c, 39c

I realize there is some disparity between the temps (cores 1 and 4 being higher), so is this normal?

Now, I understand the gist of overclocking; testing properly with Prime 95 and all that. I'm looking for some good starting changes to make to the voltage and timings, basically a "babby's first overclock."

Hope you all can help, I am not fortunate enough to have an i7-equipped modern PC, but hopefully this upgrade will help me squeeze some more frames out of streaming.

Thank you.
February 23, 2013 6:58:45 AM

I've read a few guides and it seems with my DDR2 800 memory, I should aim for something lower like 3.2 GHz. What do you guys think? I read it's hard to get over 485 FSB with this board.

I also read that the P5B-E only does Vdimm to 2.1 volts (though I've seen 2.3v mentioned as possible).

m
l
Related resources
a c 157 à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
February 23, 2013 12:45:34 PM