RAID1 plus non-RAID partitions?

reader3800

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2007
Hello,
I'm building a new computer with an SSD for Win7, and 2 new 2TB HDs. Can I create a 200 G partition on each of the 2 HDs independently (not in RAID), and set up the rest of each HD as a large RAID1 partition? Data and user files would go on the RAID1 partition. I would put games and programs I don't use much on one non-RAID partition, and maybe a second OS (WinXP, Win95, Linux?) on the other non-RAID partition. Thanks for all suggestions, I've never used RAID before.

Solution
Can I create a 200 G partition on each of the 2 HDs independently (not in RAID), and set up the rest of each HD as a large RAID1 partition?

NO! RAIDs have to be the whole drive(s). The only way you have "leftovers" is with drives of different sizes.

Since you have 2 very large HDD, you can partiton up one, and use it for different OS/Programs/Games (i.e. Windows 7 on partition 1, Windows XP on partition 2, etc., each with all the programs you want on each OS). Google "Dual Boot WIndows 7 and Windows XP" for more information, and detailed instructions on the how-to's.

Then, for the second drive, use it as a back up for the first drive. RAID 1 is not a viable backup, it only saves you in case of drive failure, which won't...
Can I create a 200 G partition on each of the 2 HDs independently (not in RAID), and set up the rest of each HD as a large RAID1 partition?

NO! RAIDs have to be the whole drive(s). The only way you have "leftovers" is with drives of different sizes.

Since you have 2 very large HDD, you can partiton up one, and use it for different OS/Programs/Games (i.e. Windows 7 on partition 1, Windows XP on partition 2, etc., each with all the programs you want on each OS). Google "Dual Boot WIndows 7 and Windows XP" for more information, and detailed instructions on the how-to's.