Overclocking an AMD FX-6100 in an Asrock MOBO

Status
Not open for further replies.

tyler539

Honorable
Feb 22, 2013
Hey, it's my first post on TH, and I'm not even sure if I have it posted properly. But anyways, I recently make a computer build staring an AMD FX-6100 cpu and a ASRock 970DE3/U3S3 motherboard, and I was very interested in overclocking. Now, I know this motherboard is not a champ for overclocking, and I am no n00b in the tech world, but I am a beginner overclocker. I started overclocking using the BIOS originally, and it seemed stable after a good 3 hours of prime 95 (3.3ghz to 3.9ghz). Then, a few days later, it started shutting down repeatedly every hour, and it took time to realize that the overclock was unsteady. I reduced it to 3.5ghz-unstable. Then to 3.4- still unstable! All of this, though, was done through the BIOS's predefined "OC Tweaker" tab. I would set the clock speed I desired, and it would adjust voltages, etc, automatically. I figure this is not very proper, so I reset everything to default, and today, I started using AMD Overdrive's automatic tuning. It currently has me running at 3.7ghz, and it is very stable and my temps are ROOM TEMPERATURE (70 degrees Fahrenheit). I am using a stock heatsink, but with PLENTY of case airflow as you can tell. My peak temps with Prime 95 are 95 degrees Fahrenheit, so I know I am good on temperature. Now, with all that said, I want to switch from a software overclock to a BIOS overclock, but I am not well acquainted with OC terms, and my BIOS practically renames everything, so I targeted out Tom's Hardware for some help, so that I can switch from software to BIOS. I can supply more information if needed, which I am sure will be needed, but I just wanted to set a basis so that I could receive some great help from you guys! Thanks in advance! Any help appreciated!

Solution
please list full specs!