Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I have a Q6600 (rev G0), want to get new motherboard - what should i do?

Last response: in Systems
April 5, 2010 10:18:48 PM

I realize I'm talking about a chip that's several years old, but it serves my purposes well so i have no reason to replace it. i do however have plenty of reasons to replace my mobo (it's from a Gateway PC - intel DG33 , it sucks, it's micro-ATX, my HDDs won't all fit in the case, can't overclock, etc etc).
so i'm going to get a new mobo. i have an nVidia 8800GT, 4GB of PC2-6400 RAM that I may one day upgrade but no intention of doing so right now.
I mostly use this PC for gaming but not hardcore because I work for a living, and i haven't really had any problems with it - mostly i'm struggling with physical space on the board and in the case, and of course i cannot overclock anything on this board.

What kind of moderately-priced board should i be looking at? i have another GeForce card lying around, but I think it's an 8600GT - is that of any use in an SLI board? if not, i don't think i really need SLI support because I'm not planning to buy another 8800 anytime soon

down the road, i'll likely upgrade the RAM and maybe the GPU, but no intentions of messing with the CPU right now. I'd definitely like USB 3 support though

thanks for any feedback

More about : q6600 rev motherboard

Best solution

a b B Homebuilt system
a c 235 V Motherboard
April 5, 2010 10:23:54 PM

I wouldn't expect USB 3.0 to be added to socket 775 motherboards, but you can buy an add-on card.

If you need SLI, then you'll have to buy a motherboard based on an NVidia chipset. If you can live without it, then look into the Asus P5Q Deluxe or the Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P. They are not the least expensive, but they'll allow you to overclock.
April 5, 2010 11:05:48 PM

i think you should go for an Asus P5N32-E SLI,quite good mobo!!!
m
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
a c 235 V Motherboard
April 5, 2010 11:52:43 PM

spahiu said: