Testing my 3570k at stock settings

N8man3

Honorable
Feb 6, 2013
Hi everyone,

So I just finished setting up my new build. I have a i5 3570k with a corsair h100i, Asus Maximus V formula, 16gb DDR3 GSkill Ripjaws, GTX 690, Corsair 850w GOLD, and my case is the NZXT Switch 810. I decided to use CPU-Z to monitor m CPU speeds and stock settings, and use Prime95 to stress it out a little.

I initially noticed that the voltage for my cpu was at 1.33V. Isn't that high really high for a stock CPU? I thought that was high for an overclocked CPU as well. I thought... well whatever, and began prime95.

My core clock went to 4600 Mhz. Is that how it should be? I'm kind of new at this so I don't know what the norm is. I monitored my temps using HWMonitor, and thought that the temps were a little high also. They went up to around 70 degrees C with a max of 74. Doesn't give me much room for overclocking. Remember I have the corsair h100i watercooler. Are these temperatures normal? I'm pretty sure I seated it correctly... followed tutorials and such.

AND!!! In the middle of the stress test I got the BSOD!!! This is with no overclocking. However, this is not the first time I got the BSOD with this new build. Before using prime95 I had gotten the BSOD a 3 times prior. This was before I had updated chipset drivers and installed windows updates, so I thought it might have been due to that. Could these crashes be caused by the 1.33 voltage on my cpu? What about the high temps?

Additionally, I had kind of been messing around with my new SSD and HDD trying to get folders situated, and I reformatted my HDD a couple times due to some noob mistakes. Now that I think about it I probably could have not reformatted, but since I had nothing on the drive anyway, I didn't see any harm in it. Could reformatting a hard drive cause damage and lead to BSOD?

I hope someone can shed some light on what is going on. Please let me know if you need any more information about my PC or anything.

Thanks!