Sign in with
Your question

New system questions

Last response: in Systems
April 7, 2010 7:14:52 AM

This is my first time asking a question on this website so go easy

Anyway I am looking to build a new system from cyberpowerpc (My current one is 8 years old. seriously)
I am looking to get some ideas about my setup
I am looking for a gaming PC for games like Modern Warfare 2, Far Cry 2, ect.
And I am sick of crappy frame rates.

800 Power box
Phenom 965 Black Edition
4GB DDR3
ATI Radeon 5830 (X-fire in a few years when i get some more $$)
AM3 motherboard

I have a few questions....
1. Do i need/should I have a Solid state drive?
2. I cant seem to choose a motherboard.....I want something with AM3, a high bus speed and one that can fit 2 HD5830's and an audio card....but beyond that i am lost. Ideas?
3. should i get 1333MHZ or 1600MHZ? Do I need 3 sticks instead of 2?
4. oh and what is the difference between a Gen2 PciE and a PciE? Would a HD5830 work good in both of them?

Thanks in advance

More about : system questions

April 7, 2010 10:21:51 AM

1. SSD - a luxury at current $$/GB but nice to have
2. Just hit a single HD 5850 - a 770/budget 790GX or if u can wait till April 26th 870/880G with native SATA 6GB/s support?
3. If costs the same 1600 else 1333
4. Only previous gen (ealier than 700 series) would be on PCIex16 gen 1.0 so no worries
5. Other options: AthlonII X4 630 now for games and look to hit Thuban X6 if need arises? Also Deneb 925-955BE?
m
l
April 7, 2010 2:05:27 PM

Responders on this site would be able to better advise you if you could post an estimated budget. With that they could advise you of the best bang for the buck.
m
l
Related resources
April 7, 2010 2:12:00 PM

I honestly wouldn't recommend an SSD for at least another year, let them get faster, better, cheaper first.
like batuchka said save yourself money on the RAM because you are going to want to get the next step up on the graphics