Upgrading - Will it work?

addii12

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2010
Hello

So I just decided what parts I will buy and since I am new to upgrading / building computers I wanted to know from you guys if my parts will work together.

This is what my build will look like

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 HDZ955FBGIBOX 3.2 GHz/6 MB L3/125W

Mobo: Msi 770T-C45 (own)

RAM: OCZ OCZ2G10664GK 4GB 1066MHz PC2-8500 Dual Channel DDR2 Kit

HDD: 1x 250gb 1x500gb 1x750gb (own)

PSU: forton 500W (own - But will it be enough or do I need a 750W)

GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 5750 1 GB DDR5 Dual DVI-I / HDMI / DP PCI-Express Graphics Card 100284L

DVD: What came with my current computer

This will mostly be used for gaming and movies.
Any suggestions?

Looks to me like everything will work. I would actually go to a 5770 for the video card -- for the extra $20 or so, I think you'll be glad you did.

500W should be more than enough to run it with either video card, so don't worry about that.

arges86

Distinguished
Everything looks good,
+1 for the HD5770
I'm always a little cautious about 'off brand' hardware especially PSUs.
They tend to not be as reliable or last as long. I always recommend getting a PSU from a brand you trust w/ an efficiency rating of at least 80+

addii12

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2010
So I decided to go for the HD5770
and I realised I spelled fortron wrong

its a fortron 500w.. I also found the model number on the PSU and its AX500-A
so it might be this one?
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.aspx?item=N82E16817104934

also in this picture of my mobo would it be the blue slot I would use for the GPU? (not talking about the ones for Ram)
http://www.dvhardware.net/article36679.html

And 1 more question.. Will I be able to use the some cooling unit that is currently on top of the processor for the new processor? the current processor is ab Amd athlon 64 x2, 2200 MHz 4200+