Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Noob Q: How to tell how many FW/USB busses my MB has?

Last response: in Motherboards
December 16, 2010 11:33:05 AM

Hey guys,

I'm trying to render video, using 2 external HDDs. One reads the raw files, and the other is the destination for renders. I'm trying to keep the HDD's from being a bottleneck in my system, so I have the impression that I shouldn't put them on the same bus.

My question, can anyone tell me what to look for in the specs to answer this question? (Is "bus" even the right word?)

I built this myself, but I'm still learning about, well, everything. :) 

In the spec's, I only see ONE TI firewire chip:

-----------------------------------------------------------------
T.I. TSB43AB23 chip
Up to 3 IEEE 1394a ports (2 on the back panel, 1 via the IEEE 1394a bracket connected to the internal IEEE 1394a header)

So I'm assuming that anything connected to these ports is routed through the same 'bus' -- correct? And if I needed to increase throughput, I need to get an extra card -- correct?

I'm also wondering then, about USB - how do I interpret these specs:

Integrated in the South Bridge
Up to 10 USB 2.0/1.1 ports (6 on the back panel, including 2 eSATA/USB Combo, 4 via the USB brackets connected to the internal USB headers)

NEC chip:
Up to 2 USB 3.0/2.0 ports on the back panel
* USB 3.0 10x performance is a maximum theoretical value. Actual performance may vary by system configuration.

Two chips, so each has discreet throughput?

This is my MB:
GA-EX58-UD3R
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=...

Thanks a bunch, guys!

More about : noob usb busses

a c 105 V Motherboard
December 16, 2010 10:03:51 PM