Automatic OC on my 3570K???

N8man3

Honorable
Feb 6, 2013
Hello everyone!

I just finished building my new PC. I bought an i5 3570K cooled with a corsair h100i, Asus Maximus V formula, 16GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 (1333 MHz), Corsair Gold 850w PSU, GTX 690, and a NZXT Switch 810 to house it all.

I was planning on overclocking in the future, but decided that for now I would just see how everything ran at stock settings. Therefore I DID NOT ALTER ANYTHING IN THE BIOS!!! I REPEAT I CHANGED NOTHING IN THE BIOS!! I downloaded CPU-Z and ran it with and without prime95 and noticed something peculiar. Here is what it said:

Intel Core i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz
Core Voltage: 1.336V (WHATTTT?!?!) this is at idle and stressed with prime 95
Clocks Core Speed: idle = 1600 MHz; prime95 blend = 4600 MHz (WHAT AGAIN!?!?!)
Multiplier: x16 @ idle and x46 with prime95
Bus speed: 100 MHz

I'm a noob at overclocking. I've never done it. I am slowly accruing more and more knowledge everyday so that I can overclock in the future. HOWEVER... even to my noob eyes this looks like and overclock to 4.6GHz!!! WHYYYY!!!! I didn't change anything in the BIOS.

After I saw this I went into the BIOS to investigate. Below is a list of everything I saw.

Synchronizing Target CPU- Turbo Mode Speed: 4600MHz
Target DRAM Speed: 1333 MHz
CPU level up: disabled
Ai overclock tuner: manual
BCLK/PEG Freq: 100.0
Turbo Ratio: Manual
Ratio Synchronizing control: Enabled
1-core ratio limit - 46
2-core ratio limit - 46
3-core ratio limit - 46
4-core ratio limit - 46

Internal PLL voltage: Auto
CPU Bus Speed:DRAM speed ratio mode - auto
Memory Freq: auto
Xtreme Tweaking: Disabled
EPU power saving mode: Enabled
EPU setting: Auto
Intel Speed Step Tech: Enabled
CPU Ratio: auto
Turbo Mode: Enabled
Extreme OV- disabled
CPU voltage: 1.340V (manual mode) manual voltage: 1.330V
DRAM: kinda fluctuates around 1.5V (auto)
CPU PLL voltage: 1.819V (auto)
PCH voltage: 1.056V (auto)