SSD underperforming - im new to ssd -s

cheti

Honorable
Apr 6, 2012
So i bought a new corsair force gt 90gb ssd for windows and games - eveyrthing is working EXCELLENT and speed is insane.
On the box - (i dont remember correctly, but something about) 500mb/s reads and almost the same for writes.

Now the thing is - when i test i get about 200 reads and 100 writes.. whats wrong ?

What do i have to disable/enable make sure of ?
I am running in AHCI mode, im using a sata3 cable and its in the fourth sata port...
It has windows and games on it, its running at 34C when playing BF3.

Any suggestions ? thanks!

cheti

Honorable
Apr 6, 2012
1) Yes, i did it when i had my previous windows on - do i have to do it again after a fresh windows 7 install ?
2) 20 GB out of 90GB.
3) Nope, reading it now

1) On AS SSD the report will show the size of the ssd. If it is in green, that is good, you will be aligned on a 4k boundary. If it is in red, then you will be unaligned, and will not perform as well.

2) Is the 4th sata port a 6gb port? If not, switch things around.

3) 90gb is not that large. Benchmarks are done on drives which are largely unused. As you fill up the drive, there will be some performance impact. If the drive is >80% full, there might be some impact there.

4) The real value of a SSD is in the random I/O speed. A characteristic which you have already experienced.
It is probably not worth spending too much time worrying about synthetic benchmarks.

USHypertraxx

Honorable
Apr 30, 2012
LOL, i have the Corsair Force GT 120gig and same problem... The reply's however are funny as they not helping.

What chipset do you use? I have x56 or 58. Anyways the benchmarks are based on x78. And i read some more stuff on corsair. I'm very disapointed aswel. And i won't buy another SSD of corsair. This due to you need to plan your computer based on their ssd, Corsair said.

Also @cin19
You are the most common guy that you find on forums. 'did you update the firmware'?