Sign in with
Your question

Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 DDR 800 Issues

Last response: in Motherboards
December 18, 2010 8:05:37 PM

I've been a home builder/enthusiast for years, but I've never run into a problem like this before. Anyway, system specs (Nothing is overclocked):

Athlon 64 X2 5200+
Gigabte GA-MA770-DS3 Motherboard, running F7 Bios
Geforce 8600GT
Logitech Media Keyboard elite
Logitech MX310 Mouse
SBLIve Audigy X2
WD Raptor 74
WD Raptor 37 (old school)
WD Caviar 160J

The issue I have has happened with two different types of RAM. I started out with Crucial Ballistix BL12864AA804, 2x 1GB sticks, which are on the Gigabyte website as "recommended". It was on sale then with a rebate for like $30 for a set of 2, so I got it. Then I started having stability issues running it in DDR800. I didn't know as much as I do now so I didn't really check the voltage, and ordered two more sticks (they were cheap) and put them in. Well, same issue so I figured the problem was that the voltage supplied by the motherboard wasn't enough for the 2.2V that the modules require for DDR800 performance. If I upped the voltage manually, it would top out at 2.135 volts, and then suddenly my USB keyboard wouldn't work in the CMOS. so I decided to clock them down to 667 (actually like 650 due to CPU speed) and just live with it. That was fine for 2 years.

Well, I just decided to max out my system, and am moving up to win7 64-bit from XP 32 bit, so I figured I would get more ram. I picked up 4 2GB sticks of G.Skill Ram FS-6400CL5, and threw them in. As these modules run at 1.8V for DDR800 speed, I figured my problems were over.

WRONG.