sarbanesoxley

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2010
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: The sooner the better, My old computer crapped out on me, and I'm going through withdrawal.

BUDGET RANGE: $700 (possibly 800), depending on what the price/performance ratio would be

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, Gaming.... general computer uses.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: OS, Case and PSU (*possibly*), Monitor, keyboard/mouse, speakers.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg, (open to other good suggestions however)

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: United States

PARTS PREFERENCES: n/a

OVERCLOCKING: maybe

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: maybe

MONITOR RESOLUTION: I think 1650 x1080, using a 22" Acer lcd.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Ease of setup to an extent would be nice, this is my first time assembling a computer, although I've tinkered with my old desktop quite a bit due to (I think) hardware problems. Basically if the part is super extremely awesome but has a 90% chance to implode if an unskilled person attempts to install it, I think i'd like to avoid it.

My greatest fear is getting the parts, assembling them, rejoicing, but then having copious amounts of sparks explode out of my computer.

I also would like it to be upgradeable for awhile, so as I'm not shoved into a deadend that'll be nice for now but trail off rapidly.

Now on to the parts I've been interested in so far,

Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair III Formula AM3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131392

Chose this because it had AM3 socket and 2 PCIe 2.0 x16 slots. (also, I gauged alot of the parts of rating/number of reviews)

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor Model HDZ955FBGIBOX - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103674

3.2ghz wasn't much more expensive than the 3.0ghz.

Video Card: XFX HD-485X-ZNFC Radeon HD 4850 1GB 256-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card - Retail