Sign in with
Your question

Need help finishing a ~1200$ gaming build

Last response: in Systems
April 12, 2010 6:23:28 PM

Hello.
As thread name implies I need a bit of help finishing this build. I've already found a few components that I found fitting for the price range (list at bottom), but I'm a first time builder so any advice on how to improve those are more than welcome :)  .

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Hopefully this week. All depends on how quickly I finish the build.
BUDGET RANGE: Around 1100-1200 $.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Mostly gaming, surfing, a bit of movie editing.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers, operating system.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Will be using ebuyer.com to showcase the components I've already picked. The purchase will happen on a danish site (much alike newegg.com and ebuyer.com) called edbpriser.dk. However, again I'm open to recommendations.
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: Denmark.

PARTS PREFERENCES: I don't really know much about the different kind of brands, their quality and so forth, so no preferences here - just want quality and something that fits together ;)  . With the graphic card I'd prefer to go with an ATI since it seems to give more bangs for the buck.

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe, I'm not really too sure of the benefits, plus I have no clue on how to do it. SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Would prefer not to.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: I have a 22 " monitor that supports 1920x1080.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Would basically just like a nice, fast gaming PC, that will last in the years to come.

-

Here's a list of the components I've already picked:

GPU:
Intel Core i5 750 2.66GHz Socket LGA1156 8MB

RAM:
Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1333 MHz PC3-10600 CL9 .
The link is for a 1600 Mhz PC3-12800, though, as I couldn't find the other. I can't exactly remember why I picked a 1333 MHz over a 1600 MHz; but I think it had something to do with compatibility or pricing. If you think 1600 MHz is better, please say.

PSU: